Paulding County Sheriffs Throughout History

The following is a list of all of the Sheriffs that have held office in Paulding County as outlined in Paulding County; Its People and Places. In some situations only a last name is present; in others, there were several Sheriffs in a particular year. As a result of poor record keeping, things getting lost during the Civil War, disease, and unexpected death this is the best list we have been able to uncover. If you have additional or more clarified information, please contact the Paulding County Sheriff’s Office by emailing the webmaster.


1834-1838 William Sampson Hogue

1839-1843 T.C. Dunlap

1844-1845 B. M. Williams

1846-1847 Brooks Moon Willingham

1848-1849 Brewster

1850-1851 Seth Jones

1852-1856 Daniel Campbell

1857-1861 Anderson Green Brintle (Died in Office, Typhoid Fever)


                  Mack Fortner


                  Peter Patrick Allgood

1861-1868 E. Crow

1869-1870 Harvey Carlton Ritch

1871-1872 William McGreggor

1873-1874 O.M. Russom

1875-1876 Henry Braswell (Photo 2)

1877-1878 George Milton "Dick" Lawrence

1879-1880 Henry Braswell

1881-1882 William Cary Matthews

1883-1884 Nathan Cooper

1885-1888 R.W. Russom (2 terms)

1889-1890 J. Robert Moon

1891-1894 John Austin Westbrook (2 terms)

1895-1896 George Wilson Furr

1897-1902 Benjamin Franklin Wheeler (3 terms)

1903-1904 W.N. Anderson

1905-1906 J.W. Ragsdale

1907-1910 J.T. Griffin (2 terms)

1911-1912  Alonzo Talley Furr

1913-1916 G.C. Williams

1917-1920 Ernest Dolphus "Dol" Wheeler

1921-1924 James Burton "Burt" Graham

1925-1928 J. Frank Couch

1929-1932 R.W. Mitchell

1933-1936 J. Frank Couch

1937-1940 Ned Williams

1941-1944 Ted McTyre

1945-1952 John Camp (2 terms)

1953-1956 H. Grady Wilbanks (died in office February 13, 1957)

1957-1964 Jerome Clay (2 terms)

1965           Ross Clark (died in office December 9, 1965)

1965-1966 Amos Benson (died in office)

1966           Ray Lee (acting Sheriff)

1966-1977 Bob Shipp (died in office July 23, 1977)

1977-1981  Bill Forsyth (appointed acting Sheriff)

1981-1988  Bill Forsyth (11 years)

1989-1992  Perry Grogan (4 years)

1993-2008 Bruce Harris (16 years)

2009- Present Gary Gulledge